Friday, May 20, 2011

Sixth Grade Requirements

Homeschool parents fluctuate on the issue of keeping their children up to state standards. Each states' basic homeschool requirements differ, and some states do not require students to reach a specific achievement goal. However, many states do require the student to be standardized tested at least every 3 years. To meet the typical standardized test levels the students typically need to meet the state standards in their yearly studies.

For sixth grade these standards include:
1) Reading at grade level with corresponding vocabulary skill
2) Students should have grade level literary comprehension skills
3) Comprehensive grade level knowledge of grammar and sentence construction
4) Research and writing skills
5) Skills in math should include - measurement, geometry, algebra, and data analysis & probability.
6) Science includes astronomy, hydrology, meteorology, and geology.
7) Social studies should include geography, government and civics, economics, and history study.

Tuesday, May 10, 2011

What are learning styles?

Have you ever heard of learning styles before? If not, you are missing out on an incredible way to find the key to unlocking your child's potential. Learning styles are the specific way that your child applies his/her strengths to how they acquire knowledge! Tap into their learning style, and you will know just how they NEED to learn!

If you can sit and watch your child play, work, think, act, and speak for a day or so, you will pickup on his/her specific learning method. Every child has a strength, or an area that they find easier to learn with. If we can determine this and use curriculum that maximizes the specific learning strength that our child is blessed with. The key to making this work is finding the specific learning style and the right curriculum that corresponds to it. So get your notebook, and start your investigation! You won't be sorry!